Freedom Town Hall

Freedom Township was established in 1825 in the Northwest corner of Portage County, Ohio. Originally included in Hiram Township, it is bordered by the townships of Shalersville, Hiram, Windham, Charlestown and a tiny portion of the village of Garrettsville. Freedom Township is served by the

James A Garfield School District, three different telephone exchanges and the Post Offices of Hiram, Garrettsville, Mantua, Ravenna, and Windham. The township was named by the ardent abolitionists who settled this small corner of the Western Reserve in the early 19th century, There is now a marker about the Underground Railroad along the Ohio Turnpike.